About us

Department of Geography at the Faculty of Science in Zagreb is the oldest and the biggest geographic department in Croatia!  Around 40 employees work in research, teaching, professional, and administrative activities at the Department. Altogether there are around 450 students in undergraduate, graduate, integrated, and doctoral study programmes.

The Department of Geography consists of three divisions: Division of Physical Geography, Division of Human Geography, and Division of Regional Geography and Methodic. The Cartographic-technical Centre with a rich Cartographic Collection and the Central Geographic Library are also part of the Department.  We are closely linked to the Croatian Geographic Society (est. 1897), found at the same location, at Marulićev trg 19 in Zagreb.